How to gain paragon and gear: Speed Clearing GRs 101 and Beyond (1 Viewer)

Progenitus

Non-Member
Apr 25, 2015
Tennessee
This thread is all about how to gain the most paragon levels and legendary drops in the shortest amount of time. I'll go over a few basics, tips, as well as comps. Please add all of the useful information you can to this thread. Relevant advice/data should also include your XP/hour on runs. Please include info about your party when you post your XP rate. I have some experience with GR39-42, but still have a lot to learn. Shall we begin...

Basics:

Speed clearing greater rifts is a very effective way to play D3. This constitutes farming a large stack of greater rift keys and then finding a party that can clear them very quickly (2-3 min). Only one party member uses keystones to activate the greater rift. The other party members hide all but one of their keys in the inventory of another toon or at the vendor. The other party members simply upgrade keystone after every rift and recycle one key. Side note: As a general rule in public parties, the ZDPS role uses his keys to begin the rifts as he is wearing XP gear and will gain more from the rift.

Tips:

Tip 1) Upgrade your key, DE your crap, and repair your gear before 30 seconds expires. Blood shards included. This is actually really easy to do and will protect you from wasting literally billions of XP. Every second you waste in town cost you many rifts in the long run.

1.1) It takes longer to flip crappy legs onto the floor than just DE'ing them at the repair guy.

1.2) If you are putting in the keys, put the key in the second the obelisk closes and start the next GR.

1.3) Do your runs in Act 1. It's a very small map.

1.4) Don't be "hold on my shards are capped" guy. I've left shards on the ground more than once and didn't make it back in time. Remember to spend your shards. If you forget, don't punish your entire party for it.